Canberra Demons announce inaugural leadership group


The newly formed Canberra Demons have announced a six-player leadership group to guide the team into their debut NEAFL season.

Former Ainslie pair Cameron Bernasconi and Nick Heyne, plus Eastlake’s Aaron Bruce, Nick Fothergill, Rohan McLachlan and Ben Dowdell will take on the leadership duties in 2016.

The Demons’ leadership group was announced at Friday night’s team launch in Canberra with around 100 guests in attendance.

Bernasconi and Heyne have made the switch to Canberra this year after decorated careers with Ainslie, while Fothergill, Dowdell and Bruce were part of Eastlake’s leadership group in 2015.

Last year’s Round 1 NEAFL Rising Star nominee, Fothergill, 21 is the youngest member of the group, while 23-year-old McLachlan – himself a Rising Star nominee in 2013 – joins a leadership group for the first time.


Story courtesy of NEAFL.


FGD-logo-4 Griffin Constrution Lion_Logo One-Sport jimbeam coke